About Meetings…

I am back in Chile. I went to the European WNT2010 Meeting, held at the Karolinska Institutet, Sweden. It was a very wonderful meeting, specially to me. I don’t have so often the opportunity to go to another far country, and share my results with the authors of the papers I usually read. It is a great time also to learn, the new techniques, theories and trends in the field.

Main entrance to the Karolinska Institutet at Solna, Stockholm, Sweden.

This meeting was full of prominent researchers in the Wnt field. I presented my results from my PhD research Thesis, and it was extremely fantastic to receive the comments and suggestions from experts. And it was really cool to give a talk with my iPad. Actually, I was initially afraid to go with my iPad in the travel. But soon I realized that it was a very good choice. In the airport, I got delayed in a 4-hour delay. Most people were wondering where to plug their computers because of the small battery time they had. But my iPad had 10 hours of battery so I just used it without worries. Also, in some places the WiFi connection was paid, so I used my 3G connection. Wonderful. Once in the meeting, it was very useful to take my iPad in the conferences, take notes, review the maps of Stockholm, and other things. In this travel, I take out most of my iPad. I had an App to review the climate changes, details of my flight, how to get to some places, reviewing some papers…

And giving a presentation with the iPad is very nice. You will have a black screen showing the slide number (as far as I can remember… I was a little nervous), and the keynote presentations displays very well in the big screen. Also, if you forget your laser pointer, you have an option in the iPad: you keep pressed your finger in the screen, and a point very similar to a laser point will show up in the screen. You have to keep pressed your finger, and you can move across the screen to move the pointer.

Now we have another interesting meeting here in Chile: the meeting from the Latin American Society of Developmental Biology (http://www.lasdb2010.com/, if you can review the program). I will be out some time until the “meeting season” ends. Best regards.

0 Responses to “About Meetings…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Featured Posts




astuscience’s Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Listed on

Subscribe

Add to Technorati Favorites
Pablo Andrés Astudillo on Labmeeting

RSS Peer Review on Science Blogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Science News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Cell

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS PLOS Biology

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Nature News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Life Science Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Calendar

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

RSS PHD Comics

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

